Reitter Quality Manangement Logo Image

Root Cause Analysis Training

Root Cause Analysis(RCA) is a system of problem solving methods that seeks out and fixes the underlying or "root cause" problem with a system. RCA can be classified based into five different areas:
  1. Safety-based
  2. Production-based
  3. Process-based
  4. Failure-based
  5. Systems-based

For the RCA to be effective, the work must be done systematically and well-documented. From the various techniques for RCA, RQM utilizes Global 8D and Failure Mode and Effects Analysis (FMEA). Global 8D is an eight step problem solving technique that was initially formalized by the US government during WWII.

The steps are:

  • Step 1: Assemble an expert team

  • Step 2: Describe the problem fully

  • Step 3: Contain the problem using Interim Containment Actions (ICAs) as needed

  • Step 4: Identify the root cause

  • Step 5: Formulate and verify Permanent Corrective Actions (PCAs)

  • Step 6: Implement and confirm the PCAs

  • Step 7: Prevent recurrence of the root cause

  • Step 8: Recognize the efforts of the team

In FMEA, failures are prioritized based on the severity of their effect, their frequency of occurrence, and their ease of detection.

RQM will train your company's personnel to fully evaluate the root cause of the failure. As part of the training process, we will show your employees how to minimize the recurrence of the issue.

More information